GrillandRead Reader’s Award Dinner Holds, 11 Winners Emerge

The first edition of the GrillandRead Reader’s Award Dinner (GaRARA2017) held on Saturday, October 28, 2017. The dinner featured a keynote address by President of Ben American University, Mr Gossy Ukanwoke, who spoke on the topic, “Reading in the age of Social Media”. There was also music from Debbie Romeo and Spoken word presentations from King OluluHollowaay.

The well-attended dinner saw the emergence of 11 inaugural winners. These are:

1. Book of the Year: Stay With Me by Ayobami Adebayo.

This award went to the book that was most enjoyed by readers in the year 2016.

2. Author of the Year: Towunmi Coker. Towunmi Coker Literary Initiative

This award went to the author who had the most impact on readers outside of writing books.

3.Discovery of the Year: After They Left, Edify Yakusak

This award went to the book with an engaging storyline but which did not gain the traction it should have because it was self-published.

4. Book Review Site of the Year:

This award went to the website, newspaper or magazine that provides the most objective and unbiased reviews.

5. Reader’s Event of the Year: Ake Festival of Books and Art

This award went to the event that readers hated to miss. the event that brought together readers to meet with their favorite writers.

6. Book Club of the Year: Medina Book Club

This award went to the book club whose activities had the most impact on readers within and outside the club.

7. Reader Motivator of the Year: Belinda Nzeribe

This award went to the individual who in their personal capacity served as an inspiration to non-readers and got more people to read.

8. Celebrity Reader Motivator of the Year: Katherine Obiang

This award went to the celebrity who is using their personal brand to inspire more people to read.

9. Reader’s Show of the Year: Classic FM, Book on Review

This award went to the radio show that kept readers engaged with the most creative content and presentation.

10. Publisher of the Year: Cassava Republic Press

This award went to the publisher with the most impressive set of books that readers could easily identify with.

11. Reader’s Person of the Year: Tobi Eyinade

This award went to a non-author that has contributed to the growth of the reading industry through selfless service, sponsorship or other activities that facilitate reading.

There was also a special Spirit of Reading Award presented to Omovo Technologies, this year’s award sponsors. The Award was picked up by MD of Omovo Technologies, Engr Gift Mcdunhill Obioha.

Speaking at the event, Convener of the GrillandRead Reader’s Award, Abigail Anaba, said she and other members of the award panel were satisfied at the turnout but looked forward to a more engaging event next year. She said a call for nominations for the 2018 edition will soon be made and hoped for more participation by the general public. “This year we had about 200 nominations, we are hoping for more next year,” she said. She also used the opportunity to call for more corporate sponsorship of the event.

The GrillandRead Reader’s Award is an annual event aimed at recognizing readers, individuals and corporate organizations that contribute to reading for pleasure.

Follow the link to view more photos.

November 13, 2017

Tags: , ,

We would love to hear your thoughts